Two Days Later

Snow Feb 6 2014At running time, the temperature was 4 degrees with the wind out of the west at 8 mph making the feels-like temperature -8 degrees. I decided to go. I needed to banish the memory of the “Sarah, what were you thinking?!?” attempted run on Tuesday night. They have cleared the sidewalks. I kept a careful watch for icy patches and obstacles, but there were no snow drifts to navigate this time. I went 6 miles. I was very tired when I got home, but that is alright. It restored my confidence which was the point of this evening’s run. I will go less tomorrow. The stars and the moon were visible. I didn’t see anybody else out tonight only the cars passing by.

Take care, stay warm and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Days Later

  1. Shady_Grady says:

    That’s dedication! Most retail outlets are out of salt right now so the sidewalks are pretty icy. The roads aren’t bad though as most governments still have salt to use. I would not want to spend time outside exercising right now but I know that when summer comes and we have 90-100 degree weather for weeks on end I may even miss this weather.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is pretty hard to imagine those 90 degrees days right now, isn’t it ? Brr… It has been an unusually cold winter here, but we haven’t had as much snow as you have had there or where my family lives. The temperatures so far this winter have been going drastically up and down so whatever snow we get melts. It must have been a snowy winter for the stores to run out of salt. Perhaps, they have gotten used to the mild winters of recent years and didn’t order enough. The 10 day forecast here doesn’t show a warm up until the middle of next week. I figured I had better get out there before Tuesday’s run because a “thing” in my mind preventing me from venturing out in the cold. I was plenty warm last night except for the area around my eyes and a couple of times my hands got cold. I had ice crystals on my eye lashes ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t have a headache this morning so it looks like I didn’t get too cold. Except for the first .4 miles, the sidewalks I run on are the town’s responsibility and they do a really good job of keeping them clear. They don’t put salt down, though, so there are icy patches when it melts.

Leave a Reply

