Footprints in the Snow

Snow Feb 4 2014 (1) Snow Feb 4 2014 (2) Snow Feb 4 2014 (3)The best that can be said about tonight’s little adventure is that I came home cold, but otherwise none the worse for wear. I can admit defeat and tonight I was defeated: too much snow and too much wind. I tried to run for about a half of a mile and then gave up and walked the rest of the way around the block. The block is a little under 2 miles. According to the current forecast, the next two days are going to be too cold for running. The long range forecast isn’t encouraging, but it changes often so there is hope.

On Sunday afternoon, I went to the grocery store for more apples and sunflower seeds. The aroma from the hot food on the opposite side of the store from the produce was enticing. I didn’t buy any. Walking up the stairs to my apartment when I returned home, I realized something. I feel a lot more energetic this winter than I have for any winter I can remember. I don’t feel sluggish like I normally do in the winter. I have lost a couple of pounds in the last month which I don’t think I have ever done in the winter before. I have a bounce in my step. I consider all of this to be more proof that I have finally found a way to feed my body that makes it happy. This is why I didn’t buy any of the hot food in the grocery store as good as it smelled. I don’t want to mess up the steady progress my body has been making in becoming stronger.

Take care, stay warm and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Energy, Health, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Footprints in the Snow

  1. alpuntogar says:

    Well done! I don’t think you were defeated, since you went out and walked/ran in those weather conditions. Thanks for sharing 😊

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks for visiting and your comment! I was a pretty sorry cold and snow-encrusted bundle by the time I got home, but it was good exercise trudging through all those drifts. 🙂 It was a job for snow shoes.

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Well at least you didn’t fall! This has been a real winter, like the ones I remember from back in the day. Do you ever have baked apples? I like those.

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady 🙂

      I was glad I didn’t fall. The running was more like hopping 🙂 You know how the snow drifts when it is windy. The snow was the cold small flake kind that blows about easily. I don’t know if you can see it clearly in the second picture, but the drifts looked like waves going down the sidewalk. I tried to take more pictures, but the camera on the phone isn’t really up for taking pictures in the dark and the snowflakes kept getting in the way. The photos were a fuzzy collection of the light bouncing off the snowflakes. And my hands got cold since I can’t operate the phone with my mittens on. By the end, I had my hands tucked under my arms to keep them warm with the water bottle cradle in my elbow. I was thinking it would have been nice to have a water proof film camera that I could operate with my mittens on to film the snow. It looked like an old time Midwestern blizzard of the kind I read about in story books or remember from my youth. It has been a real winter!

      I love apples raw, baked, or made into applesauce 🙂 Unfortunately, my body can’t handle cooked apples at this point. I guess it needs the enzymes that are in the raw apples for digestion. I am hoping that it will improve with time and all these good nutrients I am giving it so that I can have things like baked apples again. They are really good.

Leave a Reply

