Determination

Windmill July 2007What is the difference between being determined and being stubborn? The first has a positive ring to it and the second a decidedly negative one. I looked them up. According to my handy paperback dictionary:

determined (adj) 1. having one’s mind made up, 2. resolute; firm

and

stubborn (adj) 1. refusing to yield or comply; obstinate, 2. done in an obstinate or persistent way, 3. hard to handle or deal with.

Last night, I was resolute in my determination to run and refused to yield to the cold and the wind. Determined and stubborn, I covered myself with the many layers and proceeded out the door. It was the 1 in 100, or 1 in 300, time when I was miserable running. I will admit it. My legs were tired. This might have been from the shock of the return of the cold weather. They were very happy with the relatively warm temperatures on Sunday and Monday. The feels-like temperature was in the lower single digits. This I can manage. It was the wind that caused the discomfort. It was in the 17 to 20 mph range, but gusting in the high 20s to lower 30s. I was being pushed around. My forehead hurt from the cold wind. I have to leave the area around my eyes uncovered to see. I was grumpy when I got home.

I have bounced back, though, as I do. At running time this evening, the temperature is predicted to be 27 degrees with a SSW wind of 14 mph making the feels-like temperature 16 degrees. Undeterred by last night’s experience, I am looking forward to this evening’s run.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Determination

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady 🙂

    Hmm… Interesting thought. I associate goggles with the uncomfortable ones I’ve worn while swimming or working with machinery. Now that you mention it, I have seen skiers wear goggles. I would imagine they might be more comfortable and appropriate. Thanks for the idea! I will look into it.

Leave a Reply

