A Foggy Day

Early Morning Fog October 2003My mind woke foggy and preoccupied. It had someplace else to be today. It drifted out east for a while and then shifted through memories. My feet lead the way on this evening’s run. It was cold with the feels-like temperatures around zero degrees. It looked like pulled cotton had been flung across the northern sky. I could see the stars faint in the southern sky. I had to lean my head back to see the moon perched directly overhead. It was bright even though it is only at a quarter. I brought two water bottles full of hot Echinacea tea. I was planning on adding a mile if I felt up to it. I didn’t notice until my mitten was soaked that one of the water bottles was no longer closing all the way. I had to end the run early because the hand with the wet mitten was too cold.

When it turned colder, I shortened the run. I was going around 6 or 7 miles most days before then. This last month, it has been about 4.5 miles. My body seems to have gotten used to the cold so I thought I would add a mile or two back on.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

