A Cold Wind

Flowers July 2006 (1)The wind has quieted down now. For the last couple of days, it has been pressing on the windows and rattling the vent. The temperature didn’t make it over zero today. Many days, I look out of the window and wish I could spend the day out of doors. Today, I am thankful I have a warm place to wait out the cold wind.

On Saturday, I went to one of the big box stores for some household supplies. Waiting in the checkout line, I noticed that the shelves on one side were filled with discounted champagne. The shelves on the other side held various products aimed at weight loss. It happens every January. I find my thoughts and experiences at odds with much of what I read about weight loss and general approaches to healthiness.

I think it is all about nutrients. Filling your body with food full of nutrients, getting a good night’s sleep, and going for a walk in the fresh air is like giving your body a hug filled with love. It responds by feeling and working better. I don’t think trying to achieve good health or losing weight needs to be a chore, painful or filled with deprivation. I am going to write more about this later.

One thing I like about winter is that it is citrus season. I have been loving the fresh orange, lemon, and lime juice I make in the mornings.

Take care, stay warm, and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Cold Wind

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady ๐Ÿ™‚

    It has warmed up a little here today. The high is supposed to be 20 degrees and it should be around 10 degrees at running time so I am planning to go. I do feel sorry for those who have had to be out in the weather the last couple of days. It requires a whole different level of clothing to stay safe.

    I have a couple of thoughts about what you wrote right off the top of my head ๐Ÿ™‚ The first is that I agree that sugar is addictive. Bread and baked goods can be addictive as well. I am not sure if this is true about everybody. I know that if I have any amount of bread, I will start craving more of it instantly. Bread, sugar, and other baked good make me really sick so it is easy for me to ignore the chatter in my head that tells me I should eat some.

    One way to approach either changing what you eat or trying to convince somebody else to change what they eat is to introduce the healthier foods without taking away the unhealthy ones first. Fill the refrigerator (or a grocery bag) with fresh fruits and vegetables that you (or the other person) like. Fix a fruit cup or a fruit smoothie and share it. Make a salad or cook up some of the vegetables in an interesting way and share a meal. Make it a fun time ๐Ÿ™‚ Find a vitamin and mineral herbal concentrate like the one I use which is made from plants and make them (or yourself) a drink with it. I will have a post on what I use and the drink I make a little later.

    Sugar may well be addictive, but real food tastes much better. I think pecans, for example, taste like bread if you chew them very slowly. I love the smell and the taste of the vegetable broth I make. Homemade soup of any sort cooking on the stove fills the home with the kind of smells that remind most people of their youth. It is comforting. If the people you are talking about are older, it may be that what they crave as much or more than sugar is company. Fixing them a meal and sharing it and listening to them and then leaving plenty of fruits and vegetables and the left overs from a home cooked meal when you leave may go further down the path of helping them eat healthier, then getting into an argument ๐Ÿ™‚ And whatever sugar they do eat won’t have as detrimental an effect on their body if they have the nutrients from the healthy foods to help their body process the sugar.

    What does your dog think of the cold? I know that dogs grow thicker fur in the winter, but I would imagine it depends on the breed of dog how much cold they can manage.

  2. Sarah says:

    She figured out how to open the gate, did she ? ๐Ÿ™‚ I have heard that Shepards are smart. I was wondering how spending time indoors changes how dogs adapt to the cold. When I see dogs while I am running, some of them have man-made coats on. I wonder what their feet think of the cold and snow. I know there are pads on the bottom, but at some point, the cold must seep through.

    • Sarah says:

      Perhaps she was lonely ๐Ÿ™‚ It could be a dangerous situation for her, though. You don’t know how people are going to react or whether she might decide to go on an adventure by herself which could end badly as well.

      There are two houses on the running route where the dogs bark at me if they are out in the yard. The houses face a parallel street so I am running past their back yards. I am not sure if the barking is friendly or not, but I don’t take it personally. Once in September when it was really hot and I was running late after sundown, I could see the shadows of three people sitting on the back porch with one of the barking dogs. The lady called to her dog to be quiet the first time I went by. The second time I went by she put him inside with the comment that he shouldn’t worry it was just a scary runner out there. Scary? Hmm… Okay. I guess it is all in your perspective ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

