Hot Water

Flowers June 2006 (1)I put hot Echinacea tea in the water bottle when I went running this evening. The last time it was this cold, the water in the top of the bottle froze before I had finished drinking all of the water. After stretching and getting dressed, I went to fill the water bottle and wondered if I should even bring it. It was sitting on the counter next to the tea kettle. Inspiration struck. I managed to drink all of the tea before it was cold enough to freeze. As an added bonus, it kept my hand warm for a while. Echinacea tea is a favorite. It was nice to have it to drink while I was out there.

When I finished running, the temperature was 15 degrees with a north wind of 17 mph making the feels-like temperature -2 degrees. I was warm enough. I am completely exhausted now, though. This is good. It should mean I will sleep well tonight. We are about to get a visit from some seriously cold northern air. Running has been suspended for a couple of days. I was thinking about the goldfinches while I was running. I read an article the other day on the web site of The Cornell Lab of Ornithology about goldfinches. I was wondering whether they had migrated south or stayed here for the winter. According to the map, they stayed for the winter. I hope they are tucked away out of the cold and wind. I am looking forward to seeing them again in the spring.

Take care, stay warm, and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Nature, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

