Scattering Seeds

Flowers in herb garden, Meadowbrook Park, July 2007.

Flowers in herb garden, Meadowbrook Park, July 2007.

I was scattering seeds today.

I had an unexpected and interesting conversation this afternoon. This morning, I had an appointment to get new rear coil springs put on my car on both sides. I was tired because I had to get up early and last night they were plowing the driveways when I was trying to sleep. I was tired enough to seek out the box of caffeinated tea that is stashed in the back of the cupboard in order to make an early morning cup of strong tea. It was cold in the waiting room, but I was immersed in a good book and paid little attention to the cold or the chatter from the daytime TV. People came and went. I finished one book and started another. Shortly before 2 pm, the service manager came to tell me my car was finished. I went to the window to pay the bill and collect the paperwork.

The conversation started about the weather. I said that I had been planning on stopping by the grocery store after the car repair to stock up on produce, but looking at the weather report, I was now thinking tomorrow would be better. The lady who takes care of the bill paying said that she had heard from the shuttle drivers that tomorrow was supposed to be colder than today. If I hadn’t been so tired, I would have asked her name. It might even have been on a name plate I didn’t see. She asked me where I bought my produce. This was the beginning of a 15 minute or longer conversation about food and health. She is probably my age or maybe a little older. Like many our age, she is starting to feel the effects of getting older and gradually trying to change to a more healthy life style. At some point, I wrote down for her the name of the web site where I buy the vitamin and mineral herbal concentrate I use.

At the end of the conversation, she thanked me for taking the time to talk with her. I smiled and said it was no problem. I like these conversations. I think of them as scattering seeds. I have spent years trying to figure out how to make my body work alright. It makes me happy to share what I have learned with others. The conversation reminded me of one of the reasons I decided to start this blog. I have been thinking about it for at least two years. I hesitated because I don’t have an educational or professional background in anything related to health. I know that there are many sources of information on the Internet written by those who are more qualified and eloquent than I am. I would like, though, to have a way of continuing conversations like the one today if the other person is interested. These conversations happen out of the blue once a year at least. And writing is another way of scattering seeds. If you are reading any of my posts and want to ask a question about something I have written, I hope you will.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scattering Seeds

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Shady πŸ™‚

    Yes. I know. I know. I know πŸ™‚ I had a weak moment. I am back on track today πŸ™‚

    These conversations I have are initiated by the other person. They generally continue because of an exchange of information. I am genuinely interested in hearing other people’s stories and sharing with them what I have learned. This means that when someone starts a conversation like this I stop and listen to what they have to say and then add in what I have found where appropriate. Yesterday’s conversation started with the question of costs. I told her where I buy my produce and that I was buying almost all organic these days. She asked about the cost since she had been to the place I buy my produce and looked at the prices. I said what I have mentioned elsewhere. Now that I am eating highly nutritious food, I need to eat considerably less and the net cost is actually less than it was before most of the time. It can be a hard concept for some people to grasp, but it is really true. My body simply doesn’t need that much food. I even find it surprising. Anyway, the conversation went on from there. It was mostly her explaining where she was at in trying to change things. We also talked about making changes gradually which is what she is doing and what works best for most people. I have a couple of times completely upended what I do out of either impatience or desperation. It caused a lot of confusion and disruption of the day. I think most people are more successful in the long run if they do these things gradually. Like you mentioned elsewhere, sometimes drastic changes need to be made all at once but that is definitely a harder way to go. I also agree with her approach of tackling the food issue first. A lot of people think about exercise first when they start considering improving their health. I think you have to start with the very basic task of getting good nutrients in your body first before anything else. Going for walks while you are doing this gives the body some gentle exercise and gets the blood and other fluids moving. Almost everybody can walk at least some distance. And then, later when one is feeling better and stronger other exercise can be added as necessary. I am not sure I would know how to successfully bring the topic up with someone who hadn’t started the conversation with me. This is partly due to my personality. I am not really one for putting my thoughts out there unless I know the other party has some interest in what I have to say.

  2. Sarah says:

    You are being funny πŸ™‚

    Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like pictures show up in the comments just the link, but I did click on the link.

    Like we discussed before πŸ™‚ it very much depends on one’s relation to the person and the aim of the conversation. I find it interesting how it is that in certain circumstances we use trial and error to figure out the way to do something and other times we don’t. Often it seems in interactions with people, the approach is …. I want it to be this way so that is how it should be…. A quick parity inversion test, though, usually reveals that we wouldn’t want somebody taking that approach with us. And, of course, different people respond better to different approaches. All in all, it is a complicated business. I appreciate the humor, though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

