Is It Time Yet?

Cold Weather Running ClothesIt is 4 pm and the running clothes are already stacked on the table. I will be going running around 7 pm. I checked on the weather.Β  The temperature is predicted to be 21 degrees and the wind SW at 9 mph. It has been snowing lightly since the morning. There is an inch and a half of new snow on the ground. I have to be careful to pay attention to the slick spots under the snow. The high temperature was above freezing on Wednesday through Saturday and most of the old snow melted. It created icy patches where the water from the melting snow ran on to the sidewalk and then froze when the temperature dropped again on Saturday night.

Last Tuesday, Christmas Eve, while I was enjoying a quiet run and admiring the snow and the Christmas lights on the houses, I took my eyes off of the pavement for a minute, stepped on a chunk of snow, and fell down spraining my ankle in the process. Yep. It was not one of my finer moments. It wasn’t a bad sprain as they go. I have been running for over 30 years and have accumulated an extensive knowledge of sprains along the way. I have gotten much better over the years at Paying Attention. It still sometimes happens, though, that my thoughts drift at the wrong moment.

Tubs of cold tap water and hot tap water (left) and Deep Tissue Oil (right).

Tubs of cold tap water and hot tap water (left) and Deep Tissue Oil (right).

I didn’t go running on Wednesday or Thursday. I gave my foot and ankle the hot/cold and deep tissue oil treatment during those days. I filled one tub with hot tap water and the other with cold. I put my foot in the hot water for a minute and then switched it to the cold water for a minute. I repeated this 4 to 6 times. The tubs are deep enough that the water covered my ankle.

After drying off, I rubbed the deep tissue oil into my ankle and foot. By Friday, the swelling was gone. I could put all my weight on my foot and raise myself up on the ball of my foot without my ankle hurting. I went running on Friday and Saturday. Last night, I decided to take the day off mostly because it was too cold. My foot was fine with the day off. Currently, my ankle feels a little bit sore, but good enough to go running.

The feels like temperature on Christmas Eve was around zero degrees. I was surprised that I felt plenty warm. The thumb on the hand holding the water bottle was the only part of me that was cold. I kept switching the bottle between my hands so I could tuck the thumb in with the rest of the fingers and warm it up. The last photo shows my favorite lights from the run on Christmas Eve.

Christmas Tree LightsTake care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and story teller
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is It Time Yet?

  1. Mark S says:

    Sarah,
    I am impressed with your commitment. Last weekend I was out eating vegetable sushi watching the runners go by in their moisture wicking, high tech gear, thinking that I should really get out there with them. Good for you and keep it up in the new year!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Mark,
      The secret is that I have a lot of fun running πŸ™‚ It doesn’t take much to convince me to go. I only have to get over the little bit of resistance between when I do the stretches and get out of the door. There is a part of my mind telling me that I am too tired and hungry and it is too cold and dark. I ignore it because I know how much fun I will have once I am out there. Having warm enough clothes makes a big difference. I have collected this set of winter running clothes over the last 20 years. I have layers to mix and match to deal with temperatures down to around zero degrees. Last night, it was really pleasant out. I know we must be well into winter for me to say that feels-like temperatures around 10 degrees are pleasant πŸ™‚ But it was. There was low cloud cover when I first started. The street and town lights reflecting from the clouds and the new snow made it seem more like dusk then after dark. The new snow gave my shoes traction. I was looking at all the footprints in the snow ahead of me and noticing that one large dog must have been having a lot of fun because his track was zig zagging across the other people and dog tracks. By the time I was finished the clouds had moved on and I could see the stars. I stopped before I went in to look up at them. There are too many lights to see much of the night’s sky, but I did spot the constellation Orion. Best of wishes to you and yours for a good new year!

  2. Shady_Grady says:

    Funny you mention that about the strained/sprained ankle. I had that happen to me over the holidays as well. I didn’t do the hot water thing but did do the RICE (Rest/Ice/Compression/Elevation) thing. About 4 hrs after the incident I could not put any weight on the ankle but the next day it was better and the day after better still. I’d say I’m about 90% healed now which as I am back in the wondrous world of work is good I guess. I was glad I still had crutches from knee surgery in my basement. They came in handy…

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Shady πŸ™‚ Too bad about the sprained ankle! Good to hear it is feeling better. I have done the RICE method in the past. It seems for me that the hot/cold plus deep tissue ointment works better. The deep tissue ointment is really useful. I use it on my shoulders when they are too tight and other sore muscles. And when I have a really bad headache, I put it on my temples and forehead and neck. The first day back after a break is a tough one. Hopefully your day goes well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

