Jumping Rope

Jumping RopeI added jumping rope to the day when the weather turned colder. I find it hard to pry myself out from under the pile of warm covers in the winter. I wake up to the alarm, turn it off, and then turn over and tuck my head under the covers. In the summer, I am happy to get up. I open the window in the kitchen to listen to the birds and breathe in the fresh air. I thought I would try counteracting the early morning cold with jumping rope. I fold the rug in the living room back and wear a pair of old running shoes I washed for inside use. I jump a number of times slowly with a hop in between the times when the rope comes around. Then, I jump the same number of times going fast with no intermediate hop. I repeat this until I am sweating or have had enough. My exercise these days is free form. When I was younger, I kept track of the number of miles I ran, the time, the weather conditions, how I felt, and how much I weighed. I don’t do that anymore. My aim now is to listen to my body. I think it is my mind’s job to figure out how to make my body happy. I apply this to motion, food, and sleep. If I am tired, then I need to sleep more or increase the amount or quality of nutrients. It isn’t time to have a strong cup of caffeinated tea or an espresso from the local coffee store. If my muscles are sore and tight, it means I need to stretch. When I run, I put my mind in my legs. I feel the energy flowing as the muscles stretch and then contract. I try to tread lightly paying attention to the flexing of my foot. I want exercising to be fun as well as a way of making myself stronger. Oddly, I find jumping rope fun. I breathe hard quickly and I can feel my heart beats. I play a game with myself to see how long I can go before I miss a jump and the rope hits my foot.

Take care and thanks for reading.

Sarah

About Sarah

nature, outdoor, and health enthusiast, book reader, and runner
This entry was posted in Balance, Energy, Health, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

